UK Trailer for Terry Gilliams “Brazil”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tgnetz
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 14:15:49

    Great movie. I love the frantic build up to the end…

    Terry Gilliam truly makes some great films – I’m a big fan of “The Adventures of Baron Munchhausen” and “12 Monkeys.” I wasn’t to fond of his last film but I am not a big fan of computer graphics (it is rarely done right in my opinion.)

    In Brazil, I thought that the Buttle/Tuttle confusion was very reminiscent to the baseless smears propagated on right-wing media sites and television channels like Fox News. Despite being proven incorrect, they continue with their course of action…

    Reply

  2. jasondylan
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 15:02:37

    NIce.

    I just stumbled upon the 3-disc Criterion collection and I almost wet my pants.

    Gilliams trilogy, “Time Bandits”, “Brazil” and “Baron Munchausen” were probably inspired a bit by Truffaut’s Doinel series as they represent youth, adult and old age. Gilliam is a master who has yet to be fully understood.

    I love your point about buttle/tuttle. I just started watching it again and it is maybe the best political art of this generation. Harlan Ellison calls it the “best sci-fi movie ever”. It just hits all the notes.

    Ian Holm is HILARIOUS! If it didn’t have a Monty Python bent to it, it would be horrifying!

    PEACE

    Reply

Leave a Reply

